c-header--has-cover '>

Instagram Update | Threads and Third Party

Our partners at Instagram are constantly looking to make their service more cohesive and safe for its users. Luckily here at Studio, we have our ears to the ground on all Insta-related activity to keep our community and partners updated via fun-size content!

We’ve outlined how brands and creators can get the best out of the two recent updates.


Introducing: THREADS

Threads is a camera-led messaging app that parallels certain aspects of Snapchat's recognisable model. Threads is a standalone app designed with privacy, speed, and your close connections in mind. Content shared is ephemeral, tailored to how many times it can be opened and is exclusive to the users’ personal ‘Thread’ groups. Building on the ‘close friends’ feature from last year, threads can only be used on people you’ve already chosen for your ‘close’ friends list. External users cannot see or request to be on your thread groups, they are as private a can be.

Beneficial for Creators

If you’re already using close friends to tailor your more... jazzy stories, then Threads should feel pretty natural.

With your permission, threads automatically share your ‘status’ (Auto Status) with your close friends. Monitoring your location, accelerometer (the sensor that tracks how fast you’re going) and battery power. You can also set your own bespoke status; such as ‘Studying’, ‘Working’ or 'Travelling' to create a context around how you’re interacting with the group.

If you enable Auto Status, Threads will request your location, movement, battery level and network connection from your phone in order to determine what context to share. For example, Auto Status might use your precise location to show your friends that you’re “coffee emoji”, at a cafe. Or Auto Status might detect that you’re biking and set your status to “On the Move.” Before this is enabled, you’ll be told what information Auto Status is requesting and will be asked to specifically agree. Auto Status will not share your precise location with your friends, and when Threads sends location information to our server to look up locations, it’s not stored there – this information is only stored on your device for a limited time. It is also deleted if you remove Threads.

Karina Newton, Head of Policy, Instagram

At present, it is looking like an expansion on the platforms ability to share visually, and connect with those closest to you. From sharing the everyday moments on Stories to visual DMs. Threads aims to represent a way to stay more connected to a smaller circle of friends throughout the day, alongside providing context through ‘passive connection’ you feel through the Auto Status. This opens the door to being able to communicate more easily and freely within a dedicated, yet entirely private, space.

Threads is a standalone app designed with privacy, speed, and your close connections in mind. You can share photos, videos, messages, Stories, and more with your Instagram close friends list. You are in control of who can reach you on Threads, and you can customize the experience around the people who matter most.

Robby Stein, Director of Product, Instagram

Threads are also available to business accounts and there has been no mention of advertising within threads. Brands have already taken advantage of the ‘close friends’ features for VIP or similar PR driven events. Threads could be an opportunity to expand on this and create an intimate dialogue between themselves and key influencer groups.

The way we use data from other parts of Facebook and Instagram to deliver relevant ads to you remains the same. Precise location information collected for Auto Status is a new feature specific to Threads and will not be used for ads.

Karina Newton, Head of Policy, Instagram


Third Party Update

Facebook and Instagram are making crucial steps in making sure all users' data is protected and safely within their hands. As a result, they are introducing a new in-app feature to give users more control over the data they choose to share with external apps and services.

Many of us use third-party apps and websites that provide an option to “Import photos from Instagram”, or to “Connect/Link to Instagram.” As well as apps that allow you to easily print your Instagram photos or help you build a website. This update provides user with transparency and control over their content, in addition to making it easier

“After connecting your account to a third-party service, you may grant them access to some of your profile information, such as your username and photos. Starting today, we’re making it easier for people to manage all of the third-party services they connect to their Instagram account.

“You can now manage your connections to third party services by going to “Settings” in the Instagram app. Next tap “Security,” then tap “Apps and Websites.” From there, you’ll have the option to remove any third-party services you no longer want connected to your Instagram account. When you remove a third-party service, they will no longer have access to new data on your account.”

Instagram Info Centre

There will also be an updated authorisation screen that lists all the information that the third party is requesting to access. This is relevant for influencers looking to add another layer of protection and transparency to who has access to their work.

Any questions on the updates? Please don’t hesitate to contact us on studio@whalar.com.